Tags

, , ,

I stumbled onto this yesterday, and then today while I was reading I happened to notice a speech I particularly enjoyed. So, it is my pleasure to join in Thursday Quotables, hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies. The name of the game is to highlight an awesome quote or passage you’ve found in the last week. This one makes my list because I’m a sucker for people who are good at their jobs and don’t take shit.

Image

“Gentlemen, we find ourselves in the unenviable position of pioneers. No Legion like this one has ever existed. Some of you may be expecting to serve in a token fighting force-a political symbol, where the work will be light and the business of war will seldom cross paths with us.

“If so, you are mistaken,” he said, and his voice turned slightly crisp. “Make no mistake. I intend to train this Legion to be the equal of any in the Realm. There is a great deal of work ahead of us, but I will ask nothing more from any of you than I do of myself.

“Further, I am as aware as any of you of the various agendas of the lords and Senators who supported the founding of this Legion. Lest there be any misunderstandings, you should all know now that I have no patience for politics and little tolerance for fools. This is a Legion. Our business is war, the defense of the Realm. I will not allow anyone’s games to interfere with business. If you are here with your own agenda, or if you have no stomach for hard work, I expect you to resign, here and now, and be gone after breakfast tomorrow.” His gaze swept the room again. “Are there any takers?”